The Legend of Mir Exchange - The Free Legend of Mir2

Thread: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Super Moderator Warda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 134 Times in 85 Posts

    Question How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    The Legend of Mir
    Connecting to The Legend of Mir


    - - > Download The Legend of Mir < - -


    Welcome to The Legend of Mir!

    Listed below is a user-friendly step-by-step tutorial
    on how to setup your files quickly and easily.


    1. Downloading the Auto Patcher

    Step 1:
    Click the "Download The Legend of Mir" link above, or head to http://thelegendofmir.com/download/.
    Once your download has finished, hit "Run". (or "Save" if you wish to keep a copy of the installer on your computer)

    Step 1.png

    Step 2:
    Install the auto patcher.
    By default, your Legend of Mir root folder will be installed to "C:\Program Files x86\Legend of Mir 2", if you wish to change where you want these files to be installed, simply hit "Browse..." and select a destination of your choice.

    The Auto Patcher should load and begin installing your files automatically.

    Step 2.png


    2. Setting up the Auto Patcher

    Step 1:
    Once the Auto Patcher has finished the installation process, open up your Legend of Mir root folder. (The place where you installed it to)

    Should look something similar to this.*

    Step 3.png

    * - Your folder may look different to mine, it may have more or less items inside it but don't worry, your auto patcher should give you what you need.

    Step 2:
    In this folder, you may find a variety of different things. Most are irrelevant and thus, we don't need to mess with.
    Right-Click the "mir.exe" application.
    Select "Properties".
    Select the "Compatibility" menu.
    Tick the box "Run this program as an administrator".
    Click "Apply" and "OK".

    step 456.png


    3. Optimising your Game

    While this may not be a requirement for most people, this may boost your gameplay performance.

    Step 1:
    Similar to how we granted our Auto Patcher administrators rights, we will be doing the same here but also altering the game's compatibility settings.
    Right-Click the "Mir2.exe" application. (The one below the "mir.exe" - refer to the image above)
    Select "Properties".
    Select the "Compatibility" menu.
    Tick the box "Run this program as an administrator".
    Also, tick the "Run this program in compatibility mode for:".
    ... and select "Windows XP (Service Pack 3)".
    Click "Apply" and "OK".

    step 7.png


    4. Anti-Virus Software

    Many Anti-Virus that you may have on your PC will often attempt to remove the "mir.exe" application as they believe this "unknown" program to be 'malicious'.

    We can assure you that this application is *NOT* a virus of any kind and is completely safe to use.

    Most AV Software will come with an "Exceptions" feature. This allows the user to add a file/program etc., which the AV perceives as a threat, to an "Exceptions list" where the AV Software will be unable to remove the file from the computer without the users permission.

    With this is mind, in order for you to be able to successfully launch mir.exe Auto Patcher, you will most likely be required to add this program to your AV's Exceptions List so it doesn't delete it.

    Listed below is several Anti-Virus Software Guides which will tell you how to add a program to the exceptions list.
    If your AV Software is not on the list below, simply search in Google "<Name of your AV Software> how to add exceptions" or something along those lines.

    How to Add an Exception/Exclusion:

    - AVG - McAfee - Avast - Avira - BullGuard - Kaspersky Lab - Windows Defender (Microsoft) -
    - BitDefender - Check Point - IObit - Sophos - Norton Anti-Virus -






    Let me know if you believe any of the information is incorrect
    or inaccurate and I will try to rectify the errors as soon as possible.
    Last edited by Scorpian; 19-12-2015 at 01:50 PM.
    Useful Links:

    Mir Arcadia | Project 69 | Rise of the Archons

    Download | How to Connect
    Account Recovery | FAQs | Contact Us

    - - -

    Stay updated on Twitter & Facebook!

    . .


  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Warda For This Useful Post:

    AnonymousMir17 (27-08-2017),Scorpian (16-04-2015)

  3. #2
    Super Moderator Warda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 134 Times in 85 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to Mir Arcadia

    This page features visual examples which can only be viewed by registered users.

    If you wish to view this content, please Register a forum account.
    No surveys or questionnaires, takes two minutes - and it's completely free!

  4. #3
    Administrator Scorpian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    7,369
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 343 Times in 243 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    All patcher errors can be attributed to one of 6 things:


    1. Operating System: the OS needs admin rights for permission to change the file - solution: give admin rights
    2. Internet Explorer: may be blocking the connection due to security settings - solution: test the connection.
    3. Antivirus: the software is preventing changes for whatever reason - solution: add exception
    4. Firewall: blocking the download - solution: add exception
    5. Memory: the file may be in use (game already open) or locked in memory for whatever reason - solution: reboot
    6. Web server is offline - check for announcements of reboots






    Error: "unable to connect"

    If you receive the "unable to connect" error, then there is something blocking the patcher from connecting to the internet (or specifically the patcher URL web address). The update utility uses internet explorer to make the connection, therefore it it a good idea to use it to test for issues.


    1. Open Internet Explorer (it must be Internet Explorer)
    2. Enter the following into the address bar: https://www.mirarcadia.com/update/!klist.txt
    3. If the page loads without issue then there is something ie (Firewall, Antivirus, software on your pc blocking the patcher from connecting to the site)
    4. If you see any error messages, ensure you accept them and select "In the future, do not show this warning". The update utility cannot display this message and will be silently rejecting it.





    There have been increasing complaints that Virgin Media are blocking access to the update utility. Below is a guide to disable their blocking feature. Please also feel free to send a complaint to Virgin Media for restricting your browsing.

    [How-To] – Disable websafe feature on Virgin Media


    • Sign in at https://www.virginmedia.com/myvirginmedia with your virgin media username and password this must be your primary account login details.
    • Find and select on MY APPS
    • Find and select OVERVIEW
    • Find and DISABLE both VIRUS SAFE and CHILD SAFE TURN THEM OFF
    • Select SAVE


    Finally, if the above fails, you may try running the update while connected to a VPN
    Last edited by Scorpian; 13-03-2019 at 02:54 PM.

    WeMade a dream,
    I made a reality.


  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Scorpian For This Useful Post:

    157p69 (14-02-2016)

  6. #4
    Just Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    Well I haven't been able to log on for over a week, I'm no comp expert but I think I'm clear with all the above, is it possible I've been hacked??

  7. #5
    Administrator Scorpian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    7,369
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 343 Times in 243 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    It is unlikely. It really depends on what problem you are encountering

    WeMade a dream,
    I made a reality.


  8. #6
    Just Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    London
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    Quote Originally Posted by Scorpian View Post
    It is unlikely. It really depends on what problem you are encountering
    I have got the same problem i have tryed to log back into my account but it seems that my password has been changed i made a new character and went to bw and i found my character logged in bw with different kit and in a guild i'd never be in. I have tryed to reset my password but i have got 3 accounts to the same email my main account,my store account,my p69 account.I attempt to reset my password for my main account but when i have the email verification it always come back with a reset of my password for my store account or my p69 account.
    I have logged it on about 3-4 months ago to check the server out again.The problem i have is that someone else is on my account with all my characters on them i can't change the password for it so i can receive it back. If u can help me out at all would be appreciated.My in game name is Eruption (my warrior) and the other character names on the account are Taby (my tao) and Shurikan (my wizzard)

  9. #7
    Just Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    Hi, i've been trying to log on for two days now and still i get the same problem over and over.... GREY SCREEN OF DEATH lol(as i call it )
    i've even tried to delete the full file and started it again but still the same..
    is there a way around this problem as i would really like to start playing again....

    i've tried all the above and still the problem stays right where it is lol the lil bugger it is lol .....

    i am thankful and grateful for all and any advice on this ....

    THANKS ALOT


    WHITESHARK

  10. #8
    Just Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    im gettin error of exe cant download it thru autopatcher ?? ive tryd ur solutions dnt work

  11. #9
    Just Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    Quote Originally Posted by Scorpian View Post
    All patcher errors can be attributed to one of 5 things:
    - Operating system: the OS needs admin rights for permission to change the file - solution: give admin rights
    - Antirirus: the software if preventing changes for whatever reason - solution: add exception
    - Firewall: blocking the download - solution: add exception
    - Memory: the file may be in use (game already open) or locked in memory for whatever reason - solution: reboot
    - Web server is offline - it is fine at the moment
    i'm having the the issue of "C:\Program Files (x86)\Legend of Mir 2\Update\Mir2.exe" file needs admin rights. (5)

    i've tried changing so many setting and adding it to my permissions list for firewall and nothing is working

    can someone help ?

  12. #10
    Super Moderator Warda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 134 Times in 85 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    You need to grant your autopatcher admin rights, see step 2 and 3 for details.

  13. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    Hi guys hoping you can help here I used to play Legend of mir back in the glory days and I really want to play again however this is my current problem and I seem unable to fix it at all. https://imgur.com/a/vjosa
    Hoping you guys can help!

  14. #12
    Administrator Scorpian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    7,369
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 343 Times in 243 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    You need to give mir.exe administrator rights as per step two in this post

    WeMade a dream,
    I made a reality.


  15. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    Again sorry to be a pain but it seems for whatever reason when I click apply the box unticks it'self...unsure how to proceed from here :(

  16. #14
    Administrator Scorpian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    7,369
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 343 Times in 243 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    Can you right click the file and see a Selection to run as administrator? There may be a little shield icon

    WeMade a dream,
    I made a reality.


  17. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    Aye I've done that but still the same result the updater comes up seems to load vanishes reappears again trys to extract the files away and then comes up with the message about them needing admin permission

  18. #16
    Administrator Scorpian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    7,369
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 343 Times in 243 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    Something is preventing the files from being located on your computer. This is usually because you need administrator rights on the mir.exe to allow it to do so. There may be something else causing the problem such as explained in this thread. The patcher is being denied access to do what it wants to do by some other software on your machine, be it the OS or antivirus software.

    WeMade a dream,
    I made a reality.


  19. #17
    Supreme Member zad48231's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    698
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 75 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    Seem to have experienced a new problem that isn't listed above

    Virgin Media are now blocking the domain mirarcadia.com which is preventing the updater from working

    If you experience this, visit Virgin Media's security settings page at https://my.virginmedia.com/my-apps/o...bsafe/settings

    You will need to log in with your virgin media credentials

    Then turn off "VirusSafe" and hit save.

    You'll now be able to update Mir as normal
    Zad Warr 133 | Zade Wizz 160 | Zadu Tao 125

    Good at: Talking shit, standing in town, drinking cider
    Bad at: PVP, levelling, bosses, quests

    ~ It's just a game ~

  20. The Following User Says Thank You to zad48231 For This Useful Post:

    Scorpian (04-07-2018)

  21. #18
    Administrator Scorpian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    7,369
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 343 Times in 243 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    Quote Originally Posted by zad48231 View Post
    Seem to have experienced a new problem that isn't listed above

    Virgin Media are now blocking the domain mirarcadia.com which is preventing the updater from working

    If you experience this, visit Virgin Media's security settings page at https://my.virginmedia.com/my-apps/o...bsafe/settings

    You will need to log in with your virgin media credentials

    Then turn off "VirusSafe" and hit save.

    You'll now be able to update Mir as normal
    Thanks, I have contacted VM but not yet heard back..


    Quote Originally Posted by heyupboyo View Post
    hello i keep downloading rota exe i dont know how to fix it i was all working perfect i got upto level 100
    Have you had any warning with your antivirus?

    WeMade a dream,
    I made a reality.


  22. #19
    Just Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    same problem here...autopatcher couldnt connect and changed nothing from last update

    "http://www.mirarcadia.com/update/!klist.txt" Unable to connect.(98)
    Last edited by Cerberous; 18-12-2018 at 02:07 PM.

  23. #20
    Administrator Scorpian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    7,369
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 343 Times in 243 Posts

    Re: How to Connect to The Legend of Mir

    Something is blocking your connection to http://www.mirarcadia.com/

    First try going to http://www.mirarcadia.com/update/!klist.txt on internet explorer (this is what the patcher uses) to see if there are any obvious errors. Then check firewall, and router settings

    WeMade a dream,
    I made a reality.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •